DIY Moon Phases Wall Hang

Screenshot_2016-02-09-14-26-51-1_resized

Hello! Today I had the thought that I wanted to make something that would display the different moon phases on my wall. I remember seeing a wall hang on Pinterest a while back that used a rod and fishing line and had random isosceles triangles on it. Taking that idea, I thought I would do the moon phases on it. I looked it up, and many others have done this, and they look super cute, so I thought I would make one myself. I ended up making two different ones, so let’s get started.

20160209_105747_resized.jpg

Making #1:

You’ll need:

  • Plain paper
  • Sharpie
  • Pencil
  • Wooden rod
  • Fishing line or string
  • Scissors
  • Tape or glue

Start by drawing 5 circles with the pencil.

20160209_102255_resized.jpg

With the sharpie, color how much of the moon is supposed to be there on each.

20160209_102959_resized.jpg

Once you’re done with that, cut the circles out.

20160209_103637_resized.jpg

Color the rod with the sharpie.

20160209_103919_resized.jpg

Tie some fishing line in the center of the rod. Tape or glue the circles however far apart you’d like. Then I took one piece of fishing line and tied it to both ends of the rod to act as the hanger.

20160209_104853_resized.jpg

And you’re done! You can customize this a lot. The sharpie color is changeable, you can use ribbon or yarn instead, and you can arrange the phases differently. There’s more options than that as well. This is one I did, feel free to customize it!

20160209_114628_resized

Making #2:

You’ll need:

  • Moon phases prints (Or make your own like #1)
  • Sharpie
  • Wooden rod
  • Fishing line or string
  • Scissors
  • Tape or glue

I started with making the rod black with the sharpie, simply because I was waiting for the moon prints to print. Then I cut out the prints. I tied one piece of fishing line to both ends of the rod to act as the hanger. Then on this one, each phase is at a different height and is on a separate string, where on #1 they were all on one string. I started with the outside phases and worked my way in. So just tie on a string, tape or glue the phase on, and leave the excess string attached. Then I hung it on my wall so that I could take the excess strings and have all of them meet behind the center phase.

20160209_114736_resized.jpg

– – – – –

 

I hope you enjoyed!

Check out my Instagram: @stephaniestaree

Feel free to contact me: stephaniestaree@gmail.com

Stephanie Xx

 

 

4 thoughts on “DIY Moon Phases Wall Hang

Leave a Reply

